Summary Evictions and Formal Evictions are processed through this court regarding Landlord / Tenant issues.
Types of Eviction
The most common is the Summary Eviction. The Formal Eviction is more expensive, is a lengthy process and normally requires an attorney. The Justice Court filing fee for a Summary Eviction is $51. There is also a Sheriff's service fee; the fee varies depending on location of service.
You may call the Court or the Humboldt County Sheriff's Office to obtain the appropriate service fee. Due to the in-depth process of evictions, we will only attempt to make the public aware of the types of notices available and the legal number of days required.
If you require more information, you are welcome to stop by our office. Pamphlets are available from Nevada Legal Services.
- 5-Day Notice for Non-Payment of Rent: If you are only one day late to pay your rent when it becomes due, the manager / landlord can serve you with a 5-day notice to pay rent or quit the premises. “Notice of Eviction for Non-Payment of Rent”
- 3-Day Nuisance Notice: Examples of some nuisances are damaged property, fighting or playing loud music. The person creating the nuisance does not have to be you; it could be a family member or invited guest. Followed by an Unlawful Detainer Notice. “Notice to Quit for Cause”
- 3-Day Notice-Change of Ownership: When the property you are renting is foreclosed upon, the new owner must serve you with a 3-day notice to vacate the premises. Followed by an Unlawful Detainer Notice. “Notice to Quit for Cause”
- 5-Day Notice for Lease Violation-Breach Notice: The notice should specifically name the alleged violation. You can save the lease or rental agreement from being terminated by correcting the violation within 3 days of the 5-day notice. Followed by an Unlawful Detainer Notice. “Notice to Quit for Cause”
- 7-Day / 30-Day-No Cause Termination: If you are a week-to-week tenant, your landlord may terminate your tenancy for no reason with a 7-day notice. If you are a month-to-month tenant and do not have a lease, a 30-day notice. Followed by an Unlawful Detainer Notice. “Notice to Quit for No Cause”
There are legal rights and specific information that must be included in any notice of eviction. To obtain the proper form of eviction or to make sure that your landlord has conformed with the Nevada Revised Statutes you may contact this court or Nevada Legal Services 800-323-8666.